Flathead Lake, which takes up a good bit of Montana’s gorgeous Flathead Valley, just over the Continental Divide from Babb, is the largest natural freshwater lake west of the Mississippi.  I think it is also up there on “most beautiful” lake lists, too.  I spent last night there, at a dear friend’s house out on Rocky Point.  Flathead Lake bade us a very peaceful morning:

Looking east across Flathead Lake.

Close up of those pretty mountains in the distance.

I could spend every weekend of my life exploring my adopted state, and still never see enough.  As Steinbeck famously wrote, in Travels with Charlie:

“I am in love with Montana. For other states I have admiration, respect, recognition, even some affection, but with Montana it is love, and it’s difficult to analyze love when you’re in it.”

Well said, Mr. Steinbeck, well said.

2010.  Glacier County Honey Co.  All Rights Reserved.

