As I mentioned earlier this week, I’m frantically preparing Glacier County Honey Co for the Made in Montana Fair, something that has been on my to-do list since Christmas, but of course I’m just now getting around to it.  I am a deadline kind of gal, no question about it, and unless I’ve got a due date, it ain’t gettin’ done.

Unfortunately, when you put off making hundreds of beeswax candles and ornaments until the very last minute, you run the risk of the health department being called to your kitchen.   Well, I don’t run that risk – who is to to see, near Babb? – but the rest of y’all might.  Making beeswax candles is fun, but leaves everything in your kitchen covered in beeswax that you’ll be scraping off the floor, counters, and stove top, for the rest of your days.  Honeydew and I are planning a beeswax projects room in our new warehouse in an attempt to keep the health department, if there is one in Glacier County, at bay.

Here’s my kitchen right now:

Looking good, huh?  Clearly, there is no room for food preparation.  I’ve been living on popcorn and diet Coke while candle making.  Very healthy.

These are beeswax Christmas ornaments setting up.

Now that they’ve cooled and hardened, I’ll take a Dremel tool (like a tiny drill bit) to them, to make the holes for the raffia hangers.  They look absolutely gorgeous on a Christmas tree.  How many of your ornaments are all natural and smell like wildflower honey?

These are the silicone molds that I use to make my tapers.  Brother Dear made me that wooden stand for the molds, and it has made my life so much easier.  Knocking over one of the molds filled with with liquid hot beeswax can really ruin a gal’s day.  The molds are a pain to get started, as getting the wick through the pinprick hole at one end of the taper is easier said than done.  I usually get Honeydew to do this for me, but on this occasion I had to brainstorm and figure out how to wick them on my own.

I took a length of Brother Dear’s picture hanging wire, doubled it back over the wick, and then used needle nosed pliers to clamp the wire down over the wick.  Then I carefully inserted the wickless end of the wire into the top of the mold, pulled the wire through the length of the mold, and finally pulled the wick end through the top, being very careful not to rip the pinprick sized opening with the doubled wire.

Success!

These are little one ounce beeswax bars.  If you’re curious as to why every household needs one of these, or why beeswax candles are far superior to all other candles, please check out the Beeswax FAQ on the Glacier County Honey website!

2010.  Glacier County Honey Co.  All Rights Reserved.

