I grew up in a place where Smokey and The Bandit is known as “the Gone With The Wind of Henry County.”  According to my parents, Smokey and The Bandit sold out every theatre in Henry County, Virginia (home of the Martinsville Speedway), every weekend for as long as it played on the big screen.  I believe them (1) because they are my parents, (2) because it just flat out makes sense that a racin’ community would fall muffler over tailpipe for a love story played out in a souped up Pontiac Firebird Trans Am and (3) because a quick check of Wikipedia reveals that Smokey and The Bandit was the second highest grossing film of 1977, beaten out only by Star Wars.  Growing up, my brothers and I loved Smokey and The Bandit every bit as much as we loved The Dukes of Hazzard, and that is saying something.

And so I suppose that it is not shocking that I grew up and married a man with a commercial driver’s license, who knows how to drive rigs of all sizes, from the big rigs to the 2 tons to the 1 tons to the 4 wheelers.  Who once dropped a motorbike through a frozen pond, not far from the house where he grew up.  Who can speak the language of engines as fluently as I can speak about syntax.  Who, unlike every other boyfriend I ever had, was not particularly impressed that I knew how to change my own oil.  And who, while we were truckin’ our bees home together over the weekend, kept me entertained over the radio by rewriting the lyrics to that most beloved of truckin’ songs, from Smokey and The Bandit.  Here’s what we came up with, somewhere in Idaho:

Jerry Reid’s East Bound and Down transformed into the Glacier County Honey Company’s North Bound and Down

North bound and down, loaded up and truckin’

we’re gonna do what they say can’t be done

we got a large load of bees

and honey that’s sure to please

we’re north bound just watch those bee trucks roll …

Keep your foot hard on the peddle … wife, never mind them brakes

let it all hang out cause we’ve got a run to make

The bees are restless in Californ-ia, and there’s flowers in Montan-ia

And we’ll truck ’em north no matter what it takes

North bound and down, loaded up and truckin’

we’re gonna do what they say can’t be done

we got a large load of bees

and honey that’s sure to please

we’re north bound just watch those bee trucks roll …

Old Smokey’s got them ears on, he’s hot on your trail

and he ain’t gonna rest ’till you’re in jail

So you gotta dodge him, you gotta duck him

You’ve gotta keep that diesel truckin’ …

just put that hammer down and give it hell

North bound and down, loaded up and truckin’

we’re gonna do what they say can’t be done

we got a large load of bees

and honey that’s sure to please

we’re north bound just watch those bee trucks roll!

This is the 1 ton Chevy diesel and the 2 ton GMC Topkick, just before we loaded up.

And this is the 2 ton, loaded with 200 hives of bees and 1 forklift.

And the 1 ton, where Roy Rogers and I passed many happy hours together.  I learned that Roy, like his mistress, does not care for heavy metal or hard rock, but he does really like 90s on 9, oldies, and classic country.  You should have seen us doing The Humpty Dance together on I-15.  But I’m really glad you didn’t.

2010.  Glacier County Honey Co.  All Rights Reserved.

