We talk a lot about critters around here.  It’s pretty easy to do so when you live about fifteen miles from Glacier National Park, which teems with grizzly bears, moose, mountain lions, Bighorn sheep, mountain goats, black bears, and elk, just to mention the big guys and gals.  Contrary to popular touron opinion, these big critters are not fenced into the Park, but are free to come and go, and sometimes journey to our place.  There’s little that will get me out of bed faster than hearing that there is moose in our pond, or a mountain lion on our front stoop, like there was in the summer of 2007:

I’ve never seen such a tail before or since.

Sissy named her She-Who-Shall-Not-Be-Named, or Go-Away!  As is usual for us in July, we had a house full of family and a pasture full of campers when this big kitty was on the loose, and it was not a peaceful morning as we scrambled around to account for everyone, after Kitty took off.  But still.  I love living in a place where such a creature joins me for coffee, invited or not.

Anyway, I like the big critters of Montana, but I like small critters, too.  Marmots amuse me.  Honeybees delight me.  And lizards enchant me:

No, we do not have lizards near Babb.  At least not that I know of.  Salamanders yes, lizards no.  This picture was taken when I was in California last month, out at a bee yard.

Spunky little fellow, isn’t he?  Honeydew and I named him Johnny Rodriguez.  Yes, we love old country and western music.  But not nearly as much as we love all things wild and wonderful, and all creatures great and small.

2010.  Glacier County Honey Co.  All Rights Reserved.

