Daddy.  He’s taught me a lot.

Dad taught me to never, ever give up on what you want.  Above, my dad is testing his physical limits, climbing high above Iceberg Lake, off trail, to Shangri-La, a hanging valley on Mt. Wilbur.  I took my last hike with Howard to this gorgeous spot, and Dad wanted to see it. 

To put your heart and soul into things worth doing, like Dad is here, getting up this scree field.  No easy task.

That it’s okay to act like a tourist once in a while, but not all of the time.  Here we are with Dad on one of our first trips to Glacier, circa 1989, at the Huckleberry Patch in Hungry Horse, Montana.

To take a moment to savor your accomplishments.  This is Dad at Shangri La – he made it!  Iceberg Wall in the background.

Dad’s taught me the value of hiking sticks, too.  He bought me the pair I’m holding in this picture, and converted me.  Here, we’re just above Iceberg Lake.  I like how the water looks like we could be at the Caribbean.

Dad’s taught me a good bit about persepctive, too.  Here’s the same picture of Dad and I at Iceberg, but not zoomed in.  Brother Dear was high above us.

Dad’s taught me that the key to life is education, that you can never have too much education, that educating yourself, formally or informally, should be a lifelong task.  Here I am with Dad, graduating from law school.  I would never have had the courage to go had my Dad not told me I could do it.

My dad has taught me that most things pale in comparison to not only honoring your family, but actually knowing the members thereof.  When Honeydew and I were engaged, I thought that my dad went to great lengths to welcome Honeydew into our family, and to become part of his world, too.  Here, Dad went to help Honeydew super our hives shortly before the wedding – the extra boxes on top of the hives are called “supers.”  That’s where the bees make the extra honey that we extract for your pleasure!

Dad’s taught me that most days are better with a hug.  Here, I’m with my dad on one of our favorite porches in the world, at Jackson Lake Lodge in Grand Teton National Park, Wyoming.

I’m kind of choked up, writing this blog.  Never thought of myself as anyone’s girl, much less Daddy’s, but the older I get, the gladder I am to be Honeydew’s wife, and Daddy’s girl.  Happy Father’s Day, Dad.

2010.  Glacier County Honey Co.  All Rights Reserved.

