Honeydew and Darling Summer Help went out supering today.  “Supers” are the extra boxes that you see on top of the actual hives – in the summertime, we run two brood chambers on the bottom of our stacks, then a queen excluder (a plastic grate that keeps the queen down in the hive body and brood chamber), and then supers, which are extra boxes where the bees make our fabulous honey!  Supering time means its summertime, and despite the continuing nutty weather we’re having around here (I got caught in two separate hailstorms today), it is beautiful here, and our bees are starting to make that honey, at long last.

Here’s the 2 ton, loaded up with supers.  Honeydew and Darling Summer Help made the rounds to several beeyards today, checking brood chambers for healthy queens, adding queen excluders (see the white grates on the boxes in the foreground?), and supering.

From this angle, you can see that the supers are a little bit shallower than the brood chambers.  Supers hold 9 frames to a box, and they are good and darn heavy when they’re filled with honey.  Honeydew can lift several at a time, and stack them high on the two ton.  I can lift one at a time if I wedge it against my hipbone and get honey all over myself.  He loves it when I do that and then plop down in his truck, trailing sticky with me.

Things were going pretty well for Honeydew and Darling Summer Help.  Until late afternoon, when they arrived at we call the old schoolhouse yard, up near the Del Bonita Canadian crossing, and got the truck struck.  As y’all know from previous postings, Honeydew takes gittin’ stuck with aplomb.

But he was pretty stuck.  Here he is standing on top of the 2 ton, trying to get enough cell service to call me at work and have me come with the tow rope to give him a bump out of the mud with my Tahoe.  Of course, he called right at the moment my brain was fully engaged and I was making progress on a case that I dread working on.  So of course I said, “Be right there!” and jumped in my rig.

And an hour later, I was there.

There was a pile of shingles near the old schoolhouse, so Honeydew and Darling Summer Help gave the 2 ton a little traction with a sheet of them.

We hitched the tow rope to the 2 ton and then to the Tahoe and start yanking.This went on for about an hour.

We bored the pretty bull watching us to tears.  I like the “CF” on his hip.  He could be mine.

But eventually, we pulled the 2 ton through the yard with the Tahoe, in the driving rain.  And then we all went to Gib’s Roadside Grill in Babb and chowed down on burritos.  The End.

2010. Photo credits to Jeff Street.  Glacier County Honey Co.  All Rights Reserved.

