Thirty five years ago today, my parents were married at the prettiest little church in the world, Fair Haven, near Millen, Georgia.

On that day they stood and repeated their vows in front of family and close friends, they could not know that thirty five years later, they would celebrate their anniversary with Montana drivers licenses in their wallets.  I’d love to say, “what a long, strange trip it’s been,” but they’re not Grateful Dead fans.

Mr. and Mrs. Stone are more Gladys Knight & the Pips kind of folks.  In honor of their anniversary, I’m posting the lyrics to “their song,” along with some of my favorite pictures of them.

You’re The Best Thing That Ever Happened To Me

I’ve had my share of life’s ups and downs
But fate’s been kind, the downs have been few
I guess you could say that I’ve been lucky
Well, I guess you could say that it’s all because of you 

If anyone should ever write my life story
For whatever reason there might be
Ooh, you’ll be there between each line of pain and glory
‘Cause you’re the best thing that ever happened to me
Ah, you’re the best thing that ever happened to me

Oh, there have been times when times were hard
But always somehow I made it, I made it through
‘Cause for every moment that I’ve spent hurting
There was a moment that I spent, ah, just loving you

If anyone should ever write my life story
For whatever reason there might be
Oh, you’ll be there between each line of pain and glory
‘Cause you’re the best thing that ever happened to me
Oh, you’re the best thing that ever happened to me
I know, you’re the best thing, oh, that ever happened to me

 

Hillhouse, December 2008, below zero temps.

St. Simons Island, Georgia, 2005.

Sunset at The Lodge, St. Simons Island, Georgia, 2005.

Chatmoss Ball, Martinsville, Virginia, 2006.

Dawson Pass, Glacier National Park, Montana, 2007.

Above Babb Flats, Montana, 2005.

Red Meadow Lake, near Polebridge, Montana, 2005.

Colorado River Trip, Grand Canyon, 2004.

Post Floral Park, at Comeau Pass, Glacier National Park, Montana, 2007 – only ten miles to go at 5pm!

And this, my favorite picture of them, in the judge’s stand at the Polebridge 4th of July parade. Polebridge, Montana, 2005.

Mom and Dad, here’s to 35 more!

2010.  Glacier County Honey Co. All Rights Reserved.

