Yesterday, Brother Dear and I trekked to Cut Bank.  I was, of course, a little afraid of the predicted winds and ensuing whiteout conditions, and I was so very happy not to drive.

On our way home, I picked up the camera and tried to capture the lonely, arctic essence of our 140 mile round trip to the grocery store, the auto parts store, the hardware store, the bank, the post office, and our law office.

The road goes on forever, it seems, though we are only about a few miles from Canada right here.

Brother Dear’s Blue Blockers lent an interesting glow to the mountains,which finally reappeared yesterday after a week long blizzard absence.

Hi Glacier.  It’s good to see you again.

Yellow to the left, Chief to the right, Duck Lake below.

Today, I’ll be brining our enormous Hutterite turkey and preparing the Pioneer Woman’s Nantucket Cranberry Pie, my grandma’s Pecan Pie, and my very own sweet potatoes.  But now that I’ve got my view of Glacier National Park back, I’ll spend half the day lost in thought, planning cross country ski trips into Many Glacier and decorating our soon-to-be-cut-down Christmas tree with beautiful beeswax ornaments in my head.  Let’s hope the pies don’t suffer as a result!

May you be less distracted in your Turkey Day prep than I.

2010.  Glacier County Honey Co.  All Rights Reserved.

