Sanford guest-blogs:

The residents and vagabonds of Glacier County once again experienced the harsh reality of winter on the Rocky Mountain Front after a ludicrous heat wave that saw temperatures expand into the Icarus-territory of the mid-40s.  That all changed, of course, as soon as I and my stalwart companions headed into the (relative) unknown on cross-country skis in search of the Challenge Cabin, 8 miles distant.  It snowed.  A lot.  I won’t bore you with all the details, but hopefully Natalee or “Nancy” or Maggie or Cole will eventually fill you in on the weekend.  After a wonderful, delicious, and overall quite delightful (and still painful, for this cross country skiing naive) weekend of adventures across the divide, we skied out in what we later determined to be -6 degree temps.  The parking lot, habitat to over a dozen rigs loaded with snowmobilers the day before, was perfectly empty.  Wusses.  So a great adventure was completed, and we headed back to East Glacier….the truck NEVER warmed up enough to allow for driving without gloves, but we got back to Natalee’s cabin to find this:

This is after a fair amount of shoveling.  Nat’s Subara had snow up to the doorhandle on her drivers door.  We were all a tad freezing but after some shoveling and a bit of 4WD pulling we got her out.  It was relatively satisfying, but at this point I didn’t think I’d ever warm up again.

And I didn’t for a while.  Greg called as I left East Glacier to relate that he had a situation.

This was the situation.  Greg and I take turns seeing which of us can get the 2WD farm tractor the most stuck.  I thought he’d topped me for sure with this one, but we actually got it out of there in 10-15 minutes..after unhitching the plow and yanking the front end out with my truck.  Carefully and repeatedly.  The last time I got it stuck, we had to cut a new road with chainsaws, so I think I still hold the record for “most boneheaded plowing,” although I admit Greg upped the ante with the -12 degree setting.  I’m honestly not sure how I’ll get unstuck once he heads back to California, but hopefully Courtney is a quick study.  Pregnant ladies on a tractor in sub-freezing temps should be interesting theatre.

 

After such a trying weekend, I woke up to sunshine and blue skies that continued throughout the entire day.  Granted the morning kicked off at -27 degrees, but that view is pretty much worth it.  Nah, definitely worth it.

Especially when my eight-month-old tomato plant started to flower again.  How neat is that?

 

