Honey.  Obviously, not just any ole honey: I prefer Glacier County Honey, the best you’ve never tasted!

Champagne.  I love good ole Cook’s, but I love The Widow more.  Ah, Veuve Clicquot, how I’ve missed you while incubating It’ll!

Fondue.  Well, let’s be honest: I adore cheese in all forms.  But there is something very special about lifting the fondue pot, a sweet wedding gift from our international friend, Harcus, off the shelf and rubbing it with garlic in preparation for the cheese about to be melted in its shiny confines.

To review: How to Make the Beekeeper’s Wife Happy: Honey, Champagne, Fondue.

So when I received this recipe from my mama, y’all know I got mighty excited.

Honey Champagne Fondue

Makes 2 servings

16 oz. Swiss or Gruyere cheese, shredded

4 teaspoons cornstarch

1 teaspoon dry mustard

1 Tablespoon butter

1/4 cup shallot, minced

1 clove garlic, minced

1-1/4 cups brut (dry) champagne, or sparkling wine

1/3 cup honey

2 Tablespoons lemon juice

Pinch nutmeg

1/2 teaspoon white pepper

Toss cheese with cornstarch and dry mustard to coat; reserve. In a heavy pan or fondue pot, over medium heat, melt butter. Saute shallot and garlic until soft, 2 to 3 minutes. Add champagne and bring to a boil. Slowly add reserved cheese mixture, a little at a time, stirring constantly, until cheese melts. Stir in honey and lemon juice; stir until smooth and continue to simmer 2-3 minutes more. Season with nutmeg and pepper. Serve immediately; keep warm.

Serving Suggestion: Dipping suggestions: Crusty bread cubes (French, Rye, Pumpernickel), Granny Smith apple slices, carrots, and steamed broccoli.

I haven’t yet made this fondue, but the moment I can again indulge in champagne, I shall.  Oh, yes, I realize the booze cooks out of the fondue and that it’s probably perfectly acceptable for me to go right ahead … but the recipe doesn’t call for an entire bottle of champagne, and it would never do to allow the excess bubbly to languish in the refrigerator … one of the things that makes champagne champagne is its immediacy, its in the moment celebration, so I’ll just have to wait.

I think It’ll will be worth it.

Did I mention Honeydew loves champagne, too?  On our anniversary last year, we climbed a very special mountain, and after our successful summit, we drank a bottle of very special champagne at its base.  Cheers, y’all.  And if you make the Honey Champagne Fondue, let me know how it is!

2011.  Glacier County Honey Co.  Recipe credit to the National Honey Board.  All Rights Reserved.

