Yesterday marked the warmest day thus far of 2011 – streaming sunshine, a light breeze, and highs in the upper 60s in Whitefish.  Clearly, a trip to Glacier National Park was in order.

This is Lake McDonald, the largest lake in Glacier National Park at about 10 miles long and a mile across.  I’ve never stuck a toe in it without finding it absolutely freezing cold (no surprise there, as Wikipedia states that its depths range to 472 feet!), but the smooth skipping rocks that line its edges always entice me to try again.

Aren’t they gorgeous?

Glacier National Park is hanging on to the largest snowpack it has seen in many, many years, and as a result, there’s not much hiking open yet.  So my mom and I parked at Apgar and walked the various nature and bike trails that leave from the foot of the lake, soaking in a couple of hours of cerulean sky and abundant sunshine.  As we walked, I hoped that It’ll would decide that s/he wanted to see the wonders of Glacier National Park, too.

After all, how cool would a I-went-int0-labor-with-you-in-Glacier-National-Park story be?

Guess I’ll have to go back … it’s just so hard, living in the shadow of the most beautiful national park in the lower 48 … poor me.

p.s. Going-to-the-Sun Road now open to Avalanche!

2011.  Glacier County Honey Co.  All Rights Reserved.

