Last Friday, I did my weekly summer therapy with Layla Jane. Logan Pass, at the top of the Going-to-the-Sun Road, had just opened, and we wanted to be among the first to explore in the high country. The alpine terrain around the Pass is so fragile and so well loved that most of the summer, no walking past the boardwalk is allowed. But this time of year, when feet of snow still blanket the area, every nook and cranny of the pass is fair game.

So, we strapped on our snowshoes and walked south from the pass, towards the Heavy Runner and Mount Reynolds.

We saw all sorts of interesting tracks:

And mystical cloud formations drifting in front of the Garden Wall:

We eventually hiked west, scrambling up a low ridge on Mt. Reynolds, gazing down onto almost-all-the-way-still-frozen Hidden Lake, snow covered Bearhat Mountain, and Avalanche Ridge, which drops down into Floral Park, one of my favorite spots in all of Glacier.

On the way home, I ran into this guy, having a little roadside party.

I wonder how long I’ll have to live here before I get over the thrill of seeing a bear.

Hopefully forever.

2012. Glacier County Honey Co. All Rights Reserved.

