Thirteen days remain before Daylight Savings Time begins.
I think I can I think I can I think I can.
I know the date marking the start of Daylight Savings Time isn’t everyone’s 2nd favorite day of the year, but it’s mine, and this is my blog.
So there, world.
Aren’t you ready for summer days heavy with backbreaking honey work, the kind of work that makes outdoor evenings that smell of hickory chips, charred salmon, and blackened Vidalia onions all the sweeter? Evenings that taste like salt and lime and tequila … and peaches, married with Amaretto and nutmeg, tossed in foil packets on the dying coals, even as the Slip-n-Slide games go on into the twilight?

teh slip n slide! 001

Above, Brother Dear, Howard, and I are slip-n-sliding late into the evening on the Big Farm, in Georgia, sometime in the late 80s/early 90s.

Today is a gray, snowy Tuesday in Montana, which for me means a day long stay at our wonderful local hospital, listening to the tinny mechanism of the IV pump that sends IVIG coursing through my veins. Hopefully, the IVIG is doing its job and acting like a sponge, soaking up all the crusaders in my bloodstream that want to attack poor Dos Ittles. Those crusaders don’t know any better, but I must say that this is a very unnerving feeling for a mother, knowing your body thinks your developing baby is an invader to be dealt with.

Very unmaternal, to be sure.

Each hour, a kind nurse comes to take my vital signs, and to listen to the baby’s heartbeat, which is so much faster than mine own. Dos Ittles’ heartbeat drowns out the IV pump as though a herd of ponies were galloping through the parking lot, thrilling me every hour on the hour.

I tell myself that this child will be the one to ride with me, and that after all these hours of infusions surely he or she will be compelled to choose the nice nursing home for Mama.

And I fight against the accompanying Benadryl that makes me feel like I’m coming down from a 10 day heroin high, and I try to make sense of our accounts receivables, and respond to emails, and to carry on with Tuesday.

But mostly I end up looking at old pictures on my laptop and being grateful for this chance to give Maggie Rose and Dos Ittles a shot at sibling rivalry, and late summer nights with a Slip-n-Slide.

2013. Glacier County Honey Co. All Rights Reserved.

