For Maggie’s 2nd birthday bash, I borrowed Nan’s juicer, liquefied a couple of half empty jugs of crystallized honey, and poof!  Honey lemonade.

The toddlers liked it.

The adults liked it.

The adults who mixed it with cheap Cook’s champagne REALLY liked it.

IMG_5716

Here’s the recipe:

4 cups of lemon juice — I squeezed my own because I wanted to make lemon infused vinegar with the peels, but I don’t think there’s any shame in using bottled lemon juice

2 cups of Glacier County Honey

6 cups water

__________________________________________________________________________________________

Heat the honey and the water in a pot so that the honey will fully emulsify.  If you spray your measuring cup with PAM or something similar, it will be much easier to measure the honey.  Once the honey-water is combined, add it to the lemon juice.  I used some old chunk honey that had crystallized, so it had quite a bit of wax in it.  As a result, I poured the honey-water combination through a strainer before marrying with the lemon juice in order to get the wax out.  I like the wax, but toddlers can be so picky …

Chill the lemonade or add ice cubes and then adjust the water ratio.  I probably added another 4 cups, but everyone’s got a different “lemonade tooth.”  And tasting is half the fun.

It ain’t rocket science, but it’s mighty tasty, and looks pretty with a few lemon slices floating in it.

Thanks to my sweet mother-in-law for the beautiful skep drink server!

2013.  Glacier County Honey Co.  All Rights Reserved.

