For weeks now, Howard’s 3am feeding has left my soggy, sleep deprived mind slogging in circles around one burning set of questions: didn’t a customer email me wanting that peanut butter honey bar recipe we featured during Fill Your Own Bucket Day?

Did I accidentally delete the email?  What was his name?  Did he leave a voice message, instead?  Can I un-delete those?   Did Maggie delete them?  Was this on Twitter instead?  What about the blog?  Did he comment?  Did he like them?  Did I dream this up?

And so on and so forth.  I know y’all know about the 3am to do list.

Today, I had a moment to pull out my actual laptop, as opposed to my phone, and I looked at the Glacier County Honey Co. Facebook page, and there it was, the answer to the question that’s tormented me through many a baby burping session.  Here ya go, Ray Eklund:

(And for the rest of y’all, I can attest that these are super tasty and about as easy to throw together as it gets).

Nan’s No Bake Peanut Butter Honey Bars

Ingredients:

1 c Glacier County Honey

1 c natural peanut butter,

3 c old fashioned oats

 Directions:

Melt honey and peanut butter in a saucepan, on low.  Mix in oats.  Press into a 9 x 9 inch pan. Cover and let set overnight.  Cut into bars and pack in wax paper.

These bars were eaten too quickly for any pictures … but trust us on this, they’re awfully good.

If you like honey recipes or you need inspiration on cooking with honey and replacing some of the refined sugar in your diet, be sure to check out our Pinterest Board: Eat Your Honey!

You can substitute honey for granulated sugar in many recipes – this is especially easy, and wonderful, in baked goods! Don’t forget to spray your measuring cup with PAM or some similar baking spray in order to easily release the honey from the cup. Reduce the amount of liquid that a recipe calls for by 1/4 cup for each cup of honey, add about 1/2 teaspoon of baking soda, and lower the oven temperature by about 25 degrees to prevent over browning. Honey is particularly wonderful in baked goods, as it seals in moisture with incredible results.

If your honey is crystallized, liquefy and get baking!  Here’s a recent post on How to Liquefy Crystallized Honey.

Bee sweet, y’all.

2013.  Glacier County Honey Co.  All Rights Reserved.

